This is our story...

Tom Morello announced his new solo album with the drop of an angsty, poignant single featuring Vic Mensa called “We Don’t Need You” today. His new LP The Atlas Underground is due out October 12th via Mom + Pop Music and features a grip of unexpected guests — and I mean extremely unexpected. Bassnectar, Knife Party, Pretty Lights, Steve Aoki, Portugal. The Man, Gary Clark Jr., K. Flay, Whethan, Herobust, Mumford and Sons’ Marcus Mumford, Killer Mike, Big Boi, RZA, and more are on the new album’s featured guestlist. Today, Tom’s new single featuring Vic Mensa is channeling old Rage-worthy basslines, early 2000s emo guitars, and a harrowingly modern top-line from Mensa that’s quick to remind us the modern condition is a total scam.

Above you can hear Tom discuss the inner workings of this new album, which he says is a Jimi Hendrix-inspired attempt to synthesize the now-ness of music as well as the rapidly changing socio-political climate. He pays a visit to Lars Ulrich’s Beats 1 show to tell him all about how Knife Party and Skrillex finally got him to open up to dance music, which has become a major facet of inspiration for The Atlas Underground, the sometimes comical realities of collaborating with busy musicians around the world, and his contribution to the downfall of Rage Against the Machine. We still maintain that a RATM reunion could change the world for the better (read more on that here) and while we’re waiting, check out “We Don’t Need You” along with the new album tracklist below.

The Atlas Underground Tracklist:
1. Battle Sirens (feat. Knife Party)
2. Rabbit’s Revenge (feat. Bassnectar, Big Boi, Killer Mike)
3. Every Step That I Take (feat. Portugal. The Man, Whethan)
4. We Don’t Need You (feat. Vic Mensa)
5. Find Another Way (feat. Marcus Mumford)
6. How Long (feat. Steve Aoki, Rise Against’s Tim McIlrath)
7. Lucky One (feat. K. Flay)
8. One Nation (feat. Pretty Lights)
9. Vigilante Nocturno (feat. Carl Restivo)
10. Where It’s At Ain’t What It Is (feat. Gary Clark Jr., Nico Stadi)
11. Roadrunner (feat. Leikeli47)
12. Lead Poisoning (feat. GZA, RZA, Herobust)