This is our story...

To celebrate the release of the modern adaptation of Masamune Shirow’s iconic 1989 Japanese comic (or seinen manga) Ghost in the Shell starring Scarlett Johansson, the Internet is about to be blessed with the official soundtrack of new electronic music inspired by the story. Music Inspired By The Motion Picture Ghost In The Shell will be out on March 31 and threads together 12 tracks that are uniquely representative of each artist but also tying into the timeless story of good triumphing over evil, in this instance the story of a counter-cyberterrorist organization operating in mid-21st century Japan led by protagonist Major Motoko Kusanagi, who’s played by Johansson. Our personal favorites are “Scars” from DJ Shadow featuring Nils Frahm and Tricky’s “Escape”, although even the Aoki remix is undeniably badass. Two of the aforementioned songs in the videos below and check out the full tracklist at the bottom of this post.

1. Kenji Kawai– “Utai IV Reawakening” (Steve Aoki remix)
2. Johnny Jewel – “The Hacker”
3. Boys Noize – “Cathryn’s Peak”
4. DJ Shadow ft. Nils Frahm – “Scars”
5. Above & Beyond – “Surge”
6. IO Echo – “Aokigahara Forest” (Album Only)
7. Tricky – “Escape”
8. Ki: Theory – “Enjoy The Silence” (Album Only)
9. Johnny Jewel – “Free Fall”
10. Gary Numan – “Bed Of Thorns”
11. Johnny Jewel – “The Key”
12. Kenji Kawai– “Utai IV Reawakening”