This is our story...

There are few artists I look to more than legendary Dutch production trio Noisia, to push the sonic envelope of electronica past its theoretical dead limit. Both creators and curators, their number of imprint labels act as home base for many like-minded artists to release their creations. The latest output arrives from Saint Petersburg, Russia-based duo Abstract Elements with the Join Us EP via Invisible Recordings, the experimental drum and bass focused sub-label.

Abstract Elements is composed of BOP and Diagram; the former is signed to Hospital’s sister label, Med School, and founded the independent label, Microfunk Music. They began working together on the new project about 10 years ago, and made their Invisible Recordings debut in 2014 on Invisible 007. Since then, they’ve contributed to the compilation releases Invisible 015, 018, 020, and 025. The Join Us EP marks their solo label debut.

The six-track release fits more into “170 BPM bass music” than drum and bass, offering dark, foreboding atmospheres, minimalist percussion, and neurotic basslines. The soundscape is also completed by a variety of FX, including glitches, drone hits, and phasing elements. “Posthuman,” with fellow Russian producer Subwave, is one of the most impressive cuts, and relies on automation and the slow build to induce mass hysteria. All in all, it’s a refreshing release that deviates from the norm instead falling off the beaten path to the gothic science lab.

Stream Abstract Elements’ Join Us EP below, which is available for purchase now on all major streaming platforms.